

Registered with the DTI Manufacturing Advisory Service

The AILU Award 2010

Every year we present an award to recognise 'an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the industrial use of lasers in the UK'.

The scope of eligible nominations is broad (see list of previous winners below and details on the AILU web site). Nominees do not have to be AILU members.

Who would you like to see honoured this year?

If you would like to make a nomination, please complete and return the form below or e-mail the information, using the contact details above.

Past 10 years Award winners

- 1999 Maurice Gates, entrepreneur and pioneer of lasers for fine metal processing.
- 2000 Derek Russell, Martin Adams and Franz van Rompuy, developers of the first fast axial flow $\rm CO_2$ laser.
- 2001 David Dyson, innovator in slow axial flow industrial laser design.
- 2003 Colin Webb, entrepreneur and gas laser innovator.
- 2004 Denis Hall, pioneer in rf-excited diffusion cooled 'slab' laser design.
- 2005 Bill Steen, for outstanding contributions to the advancement of laser materials processing.
- 2006 David Stroud, for his pioneering work in introducing laser applications into the aerospace industry.
- 2007 Malcolm Gower and Phil Rumsby for pioneering work in industrial laser micromachining applications and systems.
- 2008 Tim Weedon, for pioneering the introduction of Nd:YAG machines into the UK.
- 2009 Brooke Ward, for pioneering work in industrial laser beam characterisation.

I would like to nominate the following candidate for the AILU Award 2010:

Name of candidate:

Candidates contact details (if known):

I regard their outstanding contribution to the industrial use of lasers in the UK to be:

Your name, contact details and signature:

Please send your submission to 'Awards' at the above address or by email to awards@ailu.org.uk

Deadline for submissions: 15 March 2010

The award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting on the early evening of <u>10 June 2010</u> at the NEC, Birmingham



Brooke Ward (I) receiving the 2009 Award from AILU Vice President Paul Hilton