

# Association of Industrial Laser Users Minutes of the 25th Annual General Meeting

Sackville Street Building, University of Manchester

10 May 2019, 10:00

#### Present

President: Lin Li, University of Manchester Vice President: Jonathan Blackburn, TWI

Executive Director and Chair: Dave MacLellan, Anode Marketing

Others: Richard Carter (Heriot-Watt University); Tom Chaffer (TRUMPF); Adam Clare (University of Nottingham); Hollie Denney (II-VI); Derrick Jepson (Aerotech); Gerry Jones (TRUMPF); Jonathan Lawrence (Coventry University); Mark Millar (Essex Laser); Daniel Thombs (Bystronic); Mark Thompson (IPG Photonics); Matthew Wasley (KTN); Catherine Rose, (Anode Marketing, Minute Secretary).

#### **Opening remarks**

Dave MacLellan welcomed members to the AGM and thanked the University of Manchester for hosting the meeting.

#### **Apologies received**

Apologies were received from Tony Jones (Cyan Tec Systems), Neil Main (Micrometric), Arina Mohammed (University of Hull).

# Approval of the minutes of the last AGM

The minutes of the 24th AGM (26 April 2018, TRUMPF UK, Luton) were approved (proposed: Lin Li; seconded: Jonathan Lawrence).

#### Matters arising from the minutes

There were no matters arising.

#### **Presentation of the Annual Report**

AILU President Lin Li thanked all for attending the meeting. This being Lin Li's final report as President of AILU, he summarised his achievements with reference to the goals he introduced in 2017. These included: increased international collaboration; increased end-user engagement; increased student participation; the introduction of an Executive Forum; and the production of a new "Make it with Lasers" video.

# Of particular note were:

- International collaboration successful delivery of the Laser Precision Microfabrication (LPM) Symposium June 2018 with the Japan Laser Processing Society, hosted by Heriot-Watt University.
- Forthcoming workshops organised to engage with end users.
- Establishing the Early Career Researchers Committee which continues to attract new members.
- Opening discussions with likely participants of an Executive Forum.

Lin Li summarised AILU activities over the reporting period (November 2017 – end October 2018). The presentation included slides of past events and exhibitions. A look forward to future activities was also presented.

Lin Li thanked the following for support and hard work during his term as President: the AILU team, and Dave MacLellan in particular; Vice President John Blackburn; all AILU Steering Committee members.

#### **Adoption of the Annual Report**

Those present unanimously approved the Annual Report (proposed: Dave MacLellan; seconded Jon Blackburn).

#### Presentation of accounts for 2017/18

Dave MacLellan presented income and expenditure charts for the FY 17/18. It was an unusual year financially due to income and expenditure generated by the Laser Precision Microfabrication (LPM) Symposium which took place in June 2018. Total income, including funds from LPM, was £273K. LPM also featured as a main source of expenditure during the year, with total expenditure being £271K. Finances at the end of the reporting period remained healthy.

# Adoption of accounts

Those present unanimously approved the accounts (proposed: Dave MacLellan; seconded: Adam Clare).

# **Election of Officers of the Standing Committee**

Those nominated and duly elected were as follows:

AILU President: Jon Blackburn
Vice President: Adam Clare
Executive Director: Dave MacLellan

#### **Election of Ordinary Members of the Standing Committee**

Dave MacLellan extended his thanks to outgoing members of the committee who had completed their 3-year term (Duncan Hand (Heriot-Watt University), Louise Jones (KTN) and Ian White (Yamazaki Mazak)) and also to Vojtech Olle (OSI Optoelectronics) who had stood down before the end of his term.

Three nominations had been received for election as ordinary members to the committee for 3 years: Richard Carter (Heriot-Watt University), Hollie Denney (II-VI) and Matthew Wasley (KTN).

The following were nominated to be co-opted onto the committee for a 1-year period: Tony Jones (Cyan Tec Systems), Jonathan Lawrence (Coventry University), Mark Millar (Essex Laser).

All nominations were unanimously accepted en bloc with a show of hands.

# Any other business

Jon Blackburn, presented Lin Li with a laser-engraved glass trophy as a token of thanks for two very successful years as AILU President. Jon Blackburn outlined his ambitions and considerations for the next 2 years as AILU President. These included increasing the impact of AILU for its members, and growing AILU's membership and national standing. These will be addressed by: further joint events with other organisations and associations, both nationally and internationally; relaunching the website; instigating a more formal annual planning process; considering an annual ILAS event; assessing opportunities for government-funded projects.

The meeting closed at 11:00.

Catherine Rose, Minute Secretary 22 May 2019

# List of documents available prior to the 25th AGM:

Notice of 25th Annual General Meeting Agenda of 25th Annual General Meeting Minutes of 24th AGM 2018 Abbreviated accounts 2017/2018